Tafkheem and Tarqeeq Part-1

Tafkheem and Tarqeeq

Start learning Quran online and Tajweed
↓↓ ↓↓ ↓↓ ↓↓ 

–Tafkheem and Tarqeeq  Part-1    التــفــخــيـــم والتــرقــيــق الجزء الأول 

Read: Part-2  Part-3

In the first : The Arabic letters are divided into three groups as to Tafkheem and Tarqeeq:
1-Letters that always have tafkheem (heavy letters) – These are the seven letters in the group خص ضغط قظ

2-Letters that have tafkheem sometimes and tarqeeq other times :
A- The lengthened alif .  ( ا )
B- Laam (ل )in the Glorious name of Allah .     اللهم – الله
C- Raa  (راء) .

3-Letters that always have tarqeeq (light letters) This group consists of the rest of the Arabic alphabet.


– The definition of tafkheem: Fattening (heaviness).
-Its applied definition: It is a heaviness that enters the body of the letter, so that the mouth is filled with its reverberation (echo).

The method of making a letter have the characteristic of tafkheem is:
elevating the posterior tongue to the roof of the mouth (soft palate), creating more space between the roof of the mouth and the bottom of the mouth, and focusing the pressure of the letter to the roof of the

Tafkheem and Tarqeeq

Free Trail Class

The Letters That Always Have Tafkheem     ( خ غ ص ض ط ظ ق )
These letters do not all have the same degree of tafkheem, instead thereare differences according to the letter’s characteristics, and thestrength or weakness of these characteristics.
The stronger the characteristics of the letter the stronger is the
The ranking of the elevated letters from the strongest:

  ط  then  ض   then  ص  then   ظ   then   ق   then   غ  then   خ 

Tafkheem and Tarqeeq part1

Levels of  Tafkheem

We have two different schools of thought when it comes to Tafkheem.

A-Three Levels of Tafkheem:

1-The strongest being the tafkheem letter that has a  ha-fat (ظَلَم) And if it is Sakin and the letter before it has a fat-ha (يَغْلب).
2-the second being the tafkheem letter with a ـ ) dammah (قُولوا) And if it is Sakin and the letter before it has a dammah (يُصرف) .
3-the third level, the tafkheem letter with a kasrah  ( طِبتم) And if it is Sakin and the letter before it has a kasrah (أِطعام )

B-The Five Levels of Tafkheem:
1-The highest level being a tafkheem letter being followed by a long alif (خَالدين) .
2-The second level is a tafkheem letter with a fathah on it (قَتل) .
3-The third level that of a tafkheem letter having a dammah (غُلبت).
4-The forth level is a tafkheem letter with a sukoon (يُقتل) .
5-the fifth and last level, that of a tafkheem letter with a (طِباقا) .
It will be continued .

Put any question in comment
Tajweed Course
⇒  ijazah course online
⇒ Quran for kids


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.